National Diamond Outlet

Jewelry Education & Buying Guides

If you're shopping for a diamond, it's important you understand how they're graded and how to choose the right one for you.
There are four main factors in diamond grading you need to become familiar with. Best known as the "4 Cs", these are the diamond's Color, Clarity, Carat Weight, and Cut.

Diamond Shape

Diamond Color Diamond Clarity

Diamond Shape >
Every diamond shape possesses its own unique characteristics. Exploring and learning about different shapes will help you find the perfect diamond.

Diamond Color >
Diamond color refers to the degree to which a diamond is colorless. Diamond color has a significant influence on the diamond's value.

Diamond Clarity >
Diamond clarity refers to the amount and position of imperfections or blemishes inside a diamond. Diamond color has a significant influence on the diamond's value.

Diamond Carat Weight Diamond Cut Certification

Diamond Carat Weight >
Carat weight refers to the weight of a diamond. The actual size of a diamond is proportional to its carat weight.

Diamond Cut >
Diamond cut refers to how effectively the diamond reflects light back to the viewer’s eye. A well-cut diamond will appear more brilliant and fiery.

Certification >
A diamond certificate verifies a diamond’s specifications, including carat weight, color grade, clarity grade, and cut grade.


Engagement Rings

Fine Jewelry

Jewelry Resources

Buying Guides

Engagement Ring Types

Diamond Earrings

Precious Metals

Buying an Engagement Ring on a Budget

Custom Engagement Rings

Diamond Necklaces

Setting Types

How to Choose the Perfect Engagement Ring

Wedding Rings

Diamond Bracelets

Earring Backing Types

How to Choose the Perfect Diamond Studs

Finger Size Guide

Pearls & Gemstones

Jewelry Glossary


If you need help choosing a diamond to buy, contact us for a quick consultation.
(800) 490-6350